The Day I Made It Home

It wasn’t easy but I did finally make it home today. 

Yesterday the doctor said I could go home. This morning the second doctor wasn’t so sure. My Potassium levels had sunk, and she wasn’t sure it was safe.  After a lot of back and forth the doctor landed on a compromise we could all live with.  As long as I had people at home to take care of me, I could go. I get to go home but I need to go to the regional hospital and register (becoming their patient) incase anything big or bad happens.

So that was set. Then came the hard part. Jakob was going to pick me up at two and drive me home. Except my nurse overslept and I got my last chemo treatment started really late. Then I had to get some blood, which they set the drip too slow for so it was taking 3 hours instead of 1 hour for the blood.  I had to call Jakob and delay his departure.  Once everything was finished, they decided I needed my valves changed and they were of course stuck adding more time to my departure.  Once the valves were cleaned and certified all that was left to do pick up meds and the transfer papers and be on my way.  Well, guess what, the printer was broke and they couldn’t print out the papers. I was supposed to finished at one, it was now pressing two-thirty.  They finally got the papers printed and I was on my way.

At Home- At home my support team is bare bones – on call is more like it.  A potential corona scare is keeping May away for the night, but hopefully she’ll be able to go to the hospital with me tomorrow.  The rest of my support team is either at work or out with friends.  One is just in the neighborhood, so she is on call in case I need anything. 

On the bright side

I am home for now and that is better than sitting in any hospital.

0 kommentarer

    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Obligatoriske felt er merket med *

    Takk for at du engasjerer deg i denne bloggen.
    Unngå personangrep og sjikane og prøv å holde en hyggelig tone selv om du skulle være uenig med noen.
    Husk at du er juridisk ansvarlig for alt du skriver på nett.

Siste innlegg